Connecticut Third Strictest On DUI Offenses
Every year, individuals who make the wrong decision of drinking and getting behind the wheel become the cause of death of 10,000 Americans.
Connecticut is on the 3rd position in the list of states with the “Strictest and Most Lenient States on DUI” according to a study done by Wallethub. The 2 states above Connecticut are Arizona and Alaska because the DUI laws implemented there are stricter. The states where DUI laws are lenient are:
- South Dakota
- District of Columbia
- North Dakota
New York is on the 30th position and Massachusetts is on the 23rd position in the list of states where impaired driving laws are harsh.
The study revealed that from all the deaths that happened in road accidents in the year 2012, 31% involved alcohol.
The number of deaths happening due to driving under the influence of alcohol have reduced 52 percent from the year 1982 to the year 2013.
According to an estimate, intoxicated driving costs the U.S. economy $60 billion every year because of the damages it causes.
The main cause of reduction in the number of deaths caused by DUI is the harsh DUI laws implemented in the state.
On 1st of July, the state made installation of ignition interlock devices mandatory on motor vehicles of individuals whose driving licenses were suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
An interlock device requires the driver to provide a sample to check their BAC level with a set limit and if the BAC level is low, then it allows the engine of the motor vehicle to start otherwise the engine doesn’t start. The device demands samples after regular intervals to check if the driver is sober.
In Arizona, 1st time DUI offenders have to serve the longest minimum prison sentence and 2nd time DUI offenders in West Virginia have to serve the longest sentence of 180 days.
If any individual is caught driving under the influence of alcohol then their driver’s license is immediately cancelled for 3 months.
In Connecticut, if any individual is pulled over for showing signs of intoxication, and it is proved that they are under the influence, a 1st time DUI offender will have to serve 2 days in prison. A 2nd time offender has to serve prison time for 120 days and a 3rd time DUI offense is considered a felony. Moreover, a DUI offense remains in the criminal history of the offender for 10 years and the driver’s license of the person is cancelled for three months when a person is convicted of DUI.
News Source: www.Patch.com